Posted on Leave a comment

Cannes 2019: Everything you need to know

The dates, the president of the jury, the theme: Here, Vogue Paris breaks down one of the most important events in international cinema, this year led by Mexican director, Alejandro González Iñárritu.

When will the Cannes Film Festival take place?

The 72nd Cannes Film Festival will take to the Croisette between May 14 and 25, 2019. Like last year, the festival will stretch across 11 days.

The festival poster pays tribute to a shining light of French cinema

Unveiled on April 15, 2019, the poster for the 72nd edition pays homage to Agnès Varda who passed away on March 29, 2019, with a still taken from her 1994 film, La Pointe Courte. A member of the Jury in 2005, she was awarded an honorary Palme d’Or in 2015. Her light will continue to shine at the Cannes Film Festival 2019.

Who will be on the jury?

Alejandro González Iñárritu will lead the jury at the Cannes Film Festival. Following in the footsteps of Cate Blanchett. The multi-award winning Mexican director, (who has received Oscars for Best Film, Best Director and Best Original Screenplay in 2015 for Birdman, as well as the Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture Drama and Best Director for The Revenant in 2016) is no stranger to the Croisette. “Cannes is a festival that has been important to me since the beginning of my career. I am humbled and thrilled to return this year with the immense honor of presiding over the Jury, he has declared. Cinema runs through the veins of the planet and this festival has been its heart. We on the jury will have the privilege to witness the new and excellent work of fellow filmmakers from all over the planet. This is a true delight and a responsibility that we will assume with passion and devotion.” Alejandro González Iñárritu has been making waves in Hollywood since his first film in 2000, Amores Perros, thanks to his unique perspective and daring style. The director will award the Palm d’Or on the evening of May 25 with a jury composed of Elle Fanning, Maimouna N’Diaye, Kelly Reichardt, Alice Rohrwacher, Enki Bilal, Robin Campillo, Yorgos Lanthimos & Paweł Pawlikowski at his side.

The jury at the Cannes Film Festival 2019

The 19 films in competition are:

Opening film: The Dead Don’t DieJim Jarmusch

Dolor y gloria (Pain and Glory)Pedro Almodovar

Il Traditore (The Traitor)Marco Bellocchio

The Wild Goose LakeDiao Yinan

Gisaengchung (Parasite), Bong Joon-Ho

Le jeune Ahmed (Yound Ahmed), Frères Dardenne

Roubaix, une lumière (Oh Mercy!)Arnaud Desplechin

AtlantiqueMati Diope

Matthias et Maxime (Matthias and Maxime)Xavier Dolan

Little JoeJessica Hausner

Sorry We Missed You, Ken Loach

Les MisérablesLadj Ly

A Hidden LifeTerrence Malick

BacurauKleber Mendonça

La Gomera (The Whistlers)Corneliu Porumboiu

FrankieIra Sachs

Portrait de la jeune fille en feuCéline Sciamma

It must be heavenElia Suleiman

SibylJustine Triet

Films out of competition:

The Best Years of a LifeClaude Lelouch

RocketmanDexter Fletcher

Too Old To Die Young – North of Hollywood, West of HellNicolas Winding Refn

Diego MaradonaAsif Kapadia

La Belle époqueNicolas Bedos

Midnight screenings:

The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil, Lee Won-Tae

Special screenings:

SharePippa Bianco

For SamaWaad Al Kateab and Edward Watts

Family Romance, LLC., Werner Herzog

TommasoAbel Ferrara

Etre Vivant Et Le SavoirAlain Cavalier

A Certain Regard:

Vida Invisivel (Invisible Life)Karim Aïnouz

Dylda (Beanpole), Kantemir Balagov

The Swallows of KabulZabou Breitman & Eléa Gobé Mévellec

A brother’s loveMonia Chokri

The ClimbMichael Covino

Joan of ArcBruno Dumont

O Que Arde (A Sun That Never Sets)Olivier Laxe

Chambre 212Christophe Honoré

Port AuthorityDanielle Lessovitz

PapichaMounia Meddour

AdamMaryam Touzani

Zhuo Ren Mi MiMidi Z

LibertéAlbert Serra

BullAnnie Silverstein

Liu Yu Tian (Summer of Changsha)Zu Feng

EvgeNariman Aliev

Who is the master of the ceremony?

Following Monica Bellucci in 2017, it is Edouard Baer to again present the opening and closing ceremonies of the 72nd Cannes Film Festival, a task he rose to brilliantly in 2008, 2009 and last year.

Edouard Baer
© Virgile Guinard

The selection for Semaine de la Critique :

Feature films:

Abou Leila (Algeria), Amin Sidi-Boumédiène

Ceniza Negra / Cendre Noire (Costa Rica), Sofía Quirós Ubeda

Hvítur, Hvítur Dagur / A White, White Day (iceland), Hlynur Pálmason

J’ai perdu mon corps, Jérémy Clapin

Nuestras Madres / Our Mothers (Guatemala), César Díaz

The Unknown Saint / Le Miracle du Saint Inconnu (Morocco), Alaa Eddine Aljem

Vivarium (Ireland), Lorcan Finnegan

Short films:

Dia de festa / Jour de fête (Portugal), Sofia Bost

Fakh / The Trap (Egypt), Nada Riyadh

Ikki illa meint (Denmark), Andrias Høgenni

Journey Through a Body (France), Camille Degeye

Kolektyviniai sodai / Community Gardens (Lithuania), Vytautas Katkus

Lucía en el limbo (Belgium), Valentina Maurel

The Manila Lover (Norway), Johanna Pyykkö

Mardi de 8 à 10 (France), Cecilia de Arce

She Runs (France), Qiu Yang

Ultimul Drum Spre Mare / Le Dernier Voyage à la Mer (Romania), Adi Voicu

Special screenings

Litigante (Colombia), Franco Lolli – Film d’ouverture

Tu mérites un amour (France), Hafsia Herzi

Les héros ne meurent jamais (France), Aude Léa Rapin

Demonic (Australia), Pia Borg

Naptha (United Kingdom), Moin Hussain

Please Speak Continuously and Describe Your Experiences as They Come to You (Canada), Brandon Cronenberg

Invisível Herói / Invisible Hero (Portugal), Cristèle Alves Meira

Tenzo (Japan), Katsuya Tomita

Chun hiang shui nuan / Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains (China), Gu Xiaogang

Who will open the festival?

The Dead Don’t Die

Jim Jarmusch will present The Dead Don’t Die on May 14. In competition and shown as a world première, this horror film with a twist has an all-star of Bill MurrayTilda SwintonSelena GomezIggy PopAdam DriverChloë Sevigny and Danny Glover, all off whom will be surprised by a zombie invasion in the peaceful town of Centerville.

Alain Delon will be receive the honorary Palme d’Or

Alain Delon in Cannes in 1958
© Getty Images

The French cinema icon has earned it. Following in the footsteps of Jeanne Moreau, Woody Allen, Bernardo Bertolucci, Jane Fonda, Clint Eastwood, Jean-Paul Belmondo, Manoel de Oliveira, Agnès Varda and Jean-Paul Léaud, it is Alain Delon who is next to receive the honorary Palme d’Or in recognition of his immense career.

Read the full article from Vogue here

Leave a Reply